文化

推进文化交流是严复文化教育基金会的核心任务,严复一直被喻为学贯中西的文化大师。他在介绍西方思想和文化进入近代中国起到了举足轻重的作用,同时可贵的是他也不遗余力的向世界努力来解释中国的文化和价值观。
我们在文化领域的工作将继承严复先生所强调的中西会同的传统。我们认为文化作为一种催化剂可以促进人们了解彼此,通过跨文化间的对话和交流,我们可以理解并包容文化的多样性并建立共同行动的基础。
我们的目标是帮助艺术家 – 这些文化的创造者们在与他们本国文化背景不同的地区展示和他们的作品。在英国和欧洲,我们看到对中国艺术,文学,音乐,电影和表演艺术的兴趣与日俱增,而中国对西方艺术的需求也在蓬勃发展。人们普遍预计,中国的艺术市场将在未来十年将成为世界上最大的市场。严复文化教育基金会将与不同的文化艺术机构合作,使艺术和文化的传播跨越国界,照亮更多人的生活。

教育

严复文化教育基金会的一个重要任务是推动国际教育的普及。严复本人是中国最早出国接受国际化教育的典范。严复在英国留学的期间不仅在课堂上向老师和同学们学习书本知识,他还花大量的课外时间观察英国的法院,媒体和社会。他在英国的经历无疑改变了他的生活和思想,日后通过他翻译西方社会科学的作品,影响数了几代中国知识分子和年轻学子。
我们相信在一个日益全球化的世界中,年轻人必须获得高质量的国际化教育才能成为负责任的全球公民。我们还认为国际教育不等同于“西方教育”或是“英语教育”,国际教育的内容应该是多样化的,兼收并蓄各国所长,而非由一个单一的西方模式所主导。
我们的目标是利用传统的和创新的教学方法来支持国际教育,形式有夏令营,短期密集课程,专题培训和MOOCs (大型开放式在线学习)等 。我们将大力支持英国的中文的教学与普及。
随着中国经济的日益繁荣,国际教育已经成为富裕家庭的的优先的教育选择,但在中国仍然有大量的贫困家庭无法使他们的孩子接受高品质的国际教育。我们将努力在这个领域取得突破,以创新的方式使更多的人享受到国际教育并拓展他们的视野。

创新

合作创新是严复基金会的一个重要工作领域。严复是介绍进化论进入中国的第一人,他同时将西方科学的方法与术语也介绍到中国,对中国的科学发展有着深远的影响。他翻译的“物竞天择,适者生存”成为家喻户晓的名言警句。他对科学价值的认知深刻而准确,最早的呼吁国人要大力发展科学教育。他还颇具前瞻性的指出科技创新需要体制、文化等各种环境因素的支撑,警告国人不要仅仅着眼于对科学和技术的工具性与功利性,更要发展科学的态度与思维方式。
严复文化教育基金会的目标是通过提供培训,举办会议/研讨会,并最终资助研究来推动合作创新,促进中国和英国以及世界的科学与技术的对话和合作。

Back to Top
Enter your Infotext or Widgets here...

Culture

At YanFu Foundation, we place culture at the heart of everything we do. Yan Fu has long been hailed as a master of both Western and Chinese studies. He played a pivotal role in introducing Western ideas and culture into China in the early twentieth century, and also made every effort to explain Chinese culture and values to Western society.

We see our work in the cultural field following this long and distinctive tradition. We believe that culture serves as a catalyst for people to understand each other. Through the intercultural dialogue and exchange, we can appreciate the diversity amongst us and also build common ground for collective actions.

We aim to work with artists – the cultural producers to showcase and promote their work in a cultural context unfamiliar to them. In the UK and Europe, we see a surge of interest in the Chinese arts, literature, music, film and the performing arts. In China, the demand for Western arts is also booming and it is widely anticipated that the Chinese arts market will emerge as the largest market in the world in the coming decade. YanFu Foundation will work with the leading cultural and arts institutions to make arts and culture cross the boundaries and illuminate lives.

Education

A crucial mission of YanFu Foundation is to promote the value of international education. Yan Fu himself was a great example of how international education can transform a person’s life, even in a developmental trajectory of a country. During his days of studying in the UK, Yan Fu was not only learning from his teachers and classmates in the classroom, but also spending a lot time of observing English courts, media and society. His experiences in the UK undoubtedly transformed his life and he later influenced millions of Chinese people through his translated works and efforts in building the earliest higher education institutions in China.

We believe in an increasingly globalised world. Young people can only become responsible global citizens through obtaining high quality international education. We also view international education as diverse practice, encompassing the best of all countries, rather than dominated by a single Western model.

We aim to use both traditional and innovative methods to support international education, such as summer camp, intensive short courses, theme-based training and MOOCs (Massive Open Online Learning). We also support the learning of both English and Mandarin Chinese in the UK and China.

As China is growing more prosperous, international education might be a common educational choice for the better-off families, but a large number of young people from less privileged backgrounds still find it difficult to receive high quality international education. We will address this issue and design programmes to promote a wider access of international education for young people.

Innovation

Innovation is an important working area at YanFu Foundation. Yan Fu was the first person to introduce the evolution theory into China, credited with coining words like mathematics, chemistry and physics in Chinese. He also made the phrase “survival of fitness” known to the millions of Chinese people. He was a true believer of the value of science and regarded the science as the true and only real knowledge of the world. He also pointed out that we should pay more attention to the institutions, culture and various “environmental” factors which stimulate the innovation, rather than merely focus on the instrumental use of science and technology per se. At YanFu Foundation, we believe that innovation comes through independent thinking, creativity and collaboration.

We aim to facilitate the dialogue and collaborations between scientific/technological communities in China and UK through providing training, organising conference/workshops and eventually making grants for research related to the innovation.

 

Back to Top
Enter your Infotext or Widgets here...