刘凯博士在‘思华•华思’会议上做关于严复的主旨演讲

为期两天的‘思华•华思’会议由伦敦大学学院(UCL)与明爱(伦敦)学院联合主办,于2015年3月31日至4月1日在UCL Main Quad Pavilion举办。
Thinking chinese exhibition

作为演讲嘉宾之一,刘凯博士做了“超越翻译:严复与中国现代性的奠基”的演讲。他首先介绍了严复先生在英伦求学并回国成为伟大翻译家、教育家、思想家的历史,接着刘凯博士讲述了严复先生对于近代中国现代化思想形成所做出的奠基性贡献。
Kai give presentation to audience
Presentation Front
此次会议及同期展览吸引了众多学者、文化遗产专业人士及华人社区代表参加。演讲嘉宾包括伦敦大学历史系Vivienne Lo博士、文化遗产彩票基金会的Michael Murray先生、英国著名华裔演员、中国侦探的扮演着David Yip、国家军事博物馆Robert Fleming、亚非学院Tim Barrett教授、伦敦摄政大学Jonathan Liu教授等。本次活动还精选了中英医药界的代表对中医的发展进行了激烈的辩论,并用珍贵的历史图片展示了旅英华人自19世纪严复先生求学英伦到今天活跃于各个专业领域的百年奋斗史。

Logo

Dr Kai Liu Gave a Keynote Speech at “Thinking Chinese” Conference

A ground-breaking two-day interdisciplinary conference on British Chinese history and representations of Chineseness in the UK, co-organised by University College London (UCL) and Ming-Ai (London) Institute was held at UCL Main Quad Pavilion on 31st March and 1st April 2015.
Thinking chinese exhibition

As one of the keynote speakers, Dr Kai Liu delivered a presentation entitled ‘Beyond Translation: Yan Fu and the Inception of Chinese Modernity’. He first introduced Yan Fu and his stories of studying in the UK and later became a great translator, educator and enlightenment thinker in the modern china; then he highlighted Yan Fu’s critical contributions on the ideas and thoughts of China’s modernisation through his translations, writing and presidency of Peking University and Fudan University.
Kai give presentation to audience
Presentation Front

The conference, and associated exhibition, brought together academics, heritage professionals and representatives from the Chinese community. The speakers include Dr Vivienne Lo (UCL History); Mr Michael Murray (Heritage Lottery Fund); British-Chinese actor David Yip; Robert Fleming (National Army Museum); Prof Tim Barrett (SOAS); Prof Jonathan Liu (Regent’s University London). The event also featured a roundtable debates on Chinese medicine and its legalisation in the UK, an exhibition on the history of British Chinese. Both conference and exhibition explore the history of British Chinese from the 19th Century until the present days and highlighted the British Chinese’s contributions to the British society by working in different professions ranging from chef, manual labours to the professionals, diplomats, scientists, writers, performers and artists.

Logo